gadsden county

Public Safety Coordinating Council

Background: The Council shall only have the authority to make recommendations to the County Commission. The Council shall review the population status of all detention or correctional facilities owned or contracted by the County and formulate recommendations to ensure that the capacities of such facilities are not exceeded. Such recommendations shall include an assessment of the availability of pretrial intervention, pretrial release, probation, work-release, substance abuse and drug court, detention review programs and staff, gain-time schedules, applicable bail bond schedules, and the confinement status of the inmates housed within each facility owned or contracted by the County. The Council may also develop a five-year local public safety plan for future construction needs to satisfy the requirements of FS 948.51 and be eligible to receive community corrections funds.

Member Terms: The Chairperson of the Board of County Commissioners, or another County Commissioner as their designee, shall serve as the Chairperson of the Council, until the Council elects a Chairperson from the membership of the Council. A Chairperson shall serve a two-year term. The Council shall meet at the call of the Chairperson, but shall meet at a minimum of once per county fiscal year.

Meetings: Bi - Annually

Current Members: Chairman of the BOCC, Shawn Wood, Judge Charles Francis, Judge Hobbs, Judge Kathy Garner, Nancy Daniels, Frank Allman, Jeff Price, Temeka Chaney, Major James Morgan, Nina Moody, May Andrews, John Walkup, Mary Dekle, Paul Arnold, Sheriff Morris Young, Laurel Bradley and Susan Wilson.