gadsden county

department topics
more information

Planning Commission

The Planning division is responsible for the administration and implementation of the County's Comprehensive Plan, the Land Development Code and the Stormwater Policies and Procedures.  The County's Comprehensive Plan guides long-range growth in the County and is comprised of polices that influence the type, the amount, the timing and the location of new development.  The County's Land Development Regulations implement the policies of the Comprehensive Plan with greater detail. Matters pertaining to long-range goals, objectives and policies, development review, concurrency, and subdivision of land fall within the purview of this division. In addition, the P&CD serves as staff to the Gadsden County Planning Commission, also known as the Local Planning Agency, and the Board of County Commissioners (BOCC) for land development processes. Staff also provides GIS mapping data analysis services to external agencies and internal departments. The Department also coordinates with regional and state agencies on land use, transportation, environmental and economic issues.